ddn Online

The Blog of Drug Discovery News

Saying “no” to snow

In all my years of journalism, most of which has been at medical associations, healthcare organizations, health advocacy non-profits or a pharmaceutical business publication (that last one would be ddn, of course), I’ve covered a lot of conventions, conferences and shows. Some of them I’ve actually attended and some of them I’ve only written pre-show coverage for.

But I have to say that since entering this world of reporting and editing as a paid professional around 1992, I think that I’ve only encountered one major conference that was ever held in winter at anyplace with snow, and that was at Colorado Springs, which had skiing and upscale shops to make it a major draw for convention attendees.

Folks, where’s the love for New England in late January with the possibility of ice storms or Chicago in early February, with bone-chilling winds coming off Lake Michigan?

I know, I’m a pipe dreamer.

Also, I know this is kind of a throwaway post, but it’s been a long week and I promised a post every weekday (for as long as my New Year’s resolution resolve hold out), so that’s what I’ve got today.

Have a great weekend!

January 28, 2011 - Posted by | Academia & Non-Profit, Corporate, Editorial/Journalism Musings

No comments yet.

Leave a comment